T Minus 40: Someone Else

People always tell me what they believe this song means and no matter what they say I always agree. I know what it means to me and I know what it meant when I wrote it. They’re not necessarily the same, so let it mean what you want. I still play this at every show.

I’m not qualified

to sit and philosophize

I know I’ve still got unanswered questions

But I had been so blind

when I finally found my eyes

I saw the power of your suggestions

Then I turned to find

everything that I left behind and

I wish that you could let it go

I wish that I could be myself

I wish that you could let it go

But you act like Someone Else

 

See, I have been inside

all your finely crafted lies

I’ve been the problem to your solution

And I’m not full of pride

but what I keep I won’t deny

I need permission for absolution

The day you brought me here

You brought back my darkest fears and

I wish that you could let it go

I wish that I could be myself

I wish that you could let it go

But you act like Someone Else

Well, this is me with Someone Else

 

You said you wanted

You said you needed

You said you’d never let me go.

 

Now I turn to find

Part of me that I left behind and

I wish that you could let it go

I wanted just to be myself

I wish that you could let it go

But you act like Someone Else

Well, this is me with Someone Else.

         -Amy Serrago, 1998

Listen to a clip here…

 

Leave a Reply

