T Minus 40: Nammy

Dum de dum de dum de dum

Her gravelly voice whispered

the soothing, staccato lullaby

dum de dum de dum

the vibration in her chest eased my pain,

my fear, my worry

dum de dum de dum de dum

her scent, a mix of Carlton 100s and

Elizabeth Arden was home to me

dum de dum de dum

as she held me close

I was as safe as I’d ever be

dum de dum de dum de dum

the gentle motion of her antique rocker

would lull me off to sleep

dum de dum de dum

she couldn’t sing a song for me

but dum de dum

was all I’d need

curled up in my grandmother’s love

the world outside would fade away

dum de dum de dum de dum

One thought on “T Minus 40: Nammy

  1. Trish Dantzic says:

    I am soooo loving this! True sign of enjoyable reading…I’m stopping now so I don’t gobble it all down in one sitting! Bravo Amy. I love your Gammy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

