T Minus 40: Intermission

…and now a word from our sponsor, her name is… me!

I’m halfway to completing my project, so I thought this would be a good moment for reflection.

I’ve been thinking a lot about gratitude (that happens when you practice yoga every day) and I noticed my friend Sean is posting “30 days of gratitude” posts each day. He writes something he is grateful for on Facebook daily. I commented that I loved what he was doing and he responded that it has really helped change his perspective. I know first hand that focusing on gratitude does indeed change one’s perspective, but it is not an easy task. Inviting gratitude into your life is an active endeavor. It is human nature to focus on what we lack, to always want more. When you acknowledge what you have you begin to see things differently, it takes work though.

A year ago I set a goal for myself, to be a writer. I would work at it. I would not to be afraid to fail. I would take myself seriously as a creative person.

I am grateful beyond words for all of the support I’ve received in pursuit of that goal. I no longer say “I want to be a writer”. I write. I tell people I write. I share my work with friends and family and colleagues. I count myself lucky to have the space in my life (both physically and mentally) to work on my craft. I am beyond privileged to have a career that allows me this freedom. I am grateful for the vocal talent that got me here.

So, thank you. Thank you to my wonderful husband, Yves, for reading and rereading my work everyday and for being so supportive. I know you are my biggest fan. Thank you to my family. Thank you to my inspiring new friends and my talented coach Dara Lurie. I am lucky to have found you all. Thank you to all who are following along on this journey. Thanks for the shares and the likes and the comments and the love.

T Minus 40 started with an idea I had in mid July. A year ago, I would have had the idea, talked about it for a day or two and then let it go, but because of the love and support of my amazing friends and family, the idea seemed possible. For the first time in years, I believed I could follow through. I left my assignment to myself vague. I gave myself space. It was simple, post a story or poem or journal entry every day for 40 days as a precursor to my 40th birthday. I made a list of nearly 50 ideas (so I would have more material than I needed), but so many thoughts and memories have popped up since I started working that I’ve strayed from that original list several times. It will be fun to see where the second half leads.

I may never be published, but it’s secondary now to the work itself. I love it. I want it in my life, and so I will do it. Life’s too short not to.

 

 

Leave a Reply

