T Minus 40: Crush

Crush is a break up song for sure, not that I have much break up experience. The inspiration for this song came from a relationship that wasn’t mine. A friend dated one of my band members. It bothered me that she got more of his attention than I did.

 

Crush

We haven’t talked like this for years.

A whole conversation and no tears.

But there’s something deep behind your eyes,

Suddenly everything’s so clear.

 

Let’s try this again, it’s gone to your head

Now that you’re someone else’s Crush

Leave it alone, ’cause you’ve never known

What it’s like for me.

 

You’re telling me you need something new.

So tell me how good she is for you.

I won’t ask you not to turn away.

Suddenly I can see what’s true.

 

Let’s try this again, it’s gone to your head

Now that you’re someone else’s Crush

Leave it alone, ’cause you’ve never known

What it’s like to be…

The one who’s outside and you’ll never cry

Now that you’re someone else’s Crush

Leave it alone, ’cause you’ve never known.

What it’s like for me.

 

Listen here: Crush (acoustic version)

Music by Yves Gerard, Lyrics by Amy Serrago

 

Leave a Reply

